Cheesey Chicken & Roasted Pepper Calzones

31 Aug

Hello friends! The original recipe that I found in my Pillsbury Complete Cookbook was entitled “Cheese & Roasted Pepper Calzones”; however, I modified it slightly… and it was kind of delicious. I added the following ingredients and created Andee’s “Cheesey Chicken & Roasted Pepper Calzones”: sun dried tomatoes and chicken.

This was my first time to make it, and both my husband and I enjoyed it. I hope you will, as well. Bon appetit, friend!

Ingredients:

1 (10.2 oz) can large refrigerated buttermilk home-style biscuits

2 oz (1/2 cup) shredded Swiss cheese

2 oz (1/2 cup) shredded Cheddar cheese

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/3 cup roasted red bell pepper, diced

1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes (from a jar), diced

2 chicken breasts

Salt

Pepper

Herbs de Provence

Directions:

Season chicken with Salt, Pepper, and Herbs de Provence. Cook chicken in large skillet until golden brown and cooked through. Set aside to cool. When cool enough to handle, cube chicken into bite size pieces.

Combine diced roasted red pepper, diced sun dried tomatoes, and cubed chicken in medium bowl.

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Separate dough into 5 biscuits. Press or roll each to form 5 1/2-inch round.

Sprinkle all cheeses evenly onto biscuits. Top each with chicken mixture. Fold half of biscuit over filling; seal edges. Press edges firmly with fork to seal. Cut 3 slits in top of each for steam to escape. Place on ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake at 375 degrees for 15 to 18 minutes or until deep golden brown.

Leave a comment