Mexican Pizza

22 Aug

I found this recipe at http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/food/recipes/chorizo-topped-mexican-pizzas-534349/ and I have been wanting to try to make it for a while. I finally got a chance to try it out tonight, and it turned out pretty tasty. I am still a beginner in the kitchen, but this was pretty easy for even me to pull off…although I did make a few changes to the original recipe. Since my husband and I are not big fans of chorizo, I substituted strips of fajita chicken instead. I also used two avocados instead of one to make up for not having any green onions in my kitchen and also because avocados are my favorite. The ingredients are:

  • 8 oz. chorizo sausage
  • 1 cup deli-fresh chunky salsa with corn and beans
  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 4 7 – to 8-inch flour tortillas
  • 1 cup shredded Mexican cheese blend (4 oz.)
  • 1 avocado, halved, pitted, peeled and sliced
  • 4 green onions, chopped
  • 1/4 cup snipped fresh cilantro
  • Lime wedges
  1. Preheat broiler. In large skillet crumble and cook chorizo over medium heat until no pink remains. Drain in colander. In small saucepan heat salsa over medium heat until heated through.
  2. Lightly coat large baking sheet with cooking spray. Arrange tortillas, two at time, on baking sheet; top each with one-fourth the cheese. Broil 3 to 4 inches from heat 2 to 3 minutes, until cheese is melted. Top each pizza with one-fourth the warm salsa, cooked chorizo, avocado, green onions, and cilantro. Pass lime wedges. Makes 4 servings.
One Response to “Mexican Pizza”

  1. Holly Bazan August 23, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

    This looks delicious! I can’t wait to make it.

    SO proud. 🙂
    Love you,
    Hols

Leave a Reply

